The Clock Struck Twelve

“You’re late.”

“A blogger is never late, she blogs precisely when she means to.”

*ahem*…

*shyly waves and cowers from behind a corner*

Hi-ya…. so… I’m a just a little bit late on the whole new Doctor thing…. Let’s just say that I was trampled by so many people and fangirling that I have just now recovered and that this is the first time that I have been able to blog… yep. that’s my story… and I’m sticking to it.

In reality it’s a horrible sickness I have called procrastination *COUGH COUGH* excuse me.

 

So, now we all know who the twelfth Doctor is, Peter Capaldi… wait.. was it Cavaldi? no it was Kigali… bah.. whatever. we’ll have fun with this name.

Anywho… can I just say that I’m really really excited about this fellow. I have high hopes for him, he’ll be fantastic!

I’m super excited to see what kind of Doctor he will be. Although I have really enjoyed the spunk and spontaneity of the two previous regenerations I’m looking forward to a more serious fellow, someone who might be a little more stable. I think he’ll still be his usual fun and clever self, but on a much lower tone, where he may not be obsessed over bow ties and fezzes I think he’ll have his own dry fantastic humor oozing out all the time. I kinda picture him having a lot of sass… kinda like Nine, but maybe not quite as lonely and dark (after all Nine had just committed genocide on two different species. that would make someone a little grim…).
Something I really want Twelve to be like is a sort of father figure, I mean, we’ve always known that he’s been a father and that he had a family at one point, but we’ve never seen the fathering side of him. I think that it would be really sweet if he was someone more dependable and protective for Clara as more of a daughter instead of a possible love interest (which has been the Doctor’s roll for the past few faces).

I must say this is very exciting for me! I’ve never been caught up in Doctor Who when something big like this has ever happened! It’s positively wonderful to be in the madness with everyone else as it actually happens.

Another thing I’m looking forward to is Moffat’s writing for the Doctor (oh, the genius!). Moffat has an entirely new game to play, a new character, a fresh page that’s very different than before.  He’s gonna do a great job!

Overall, to me, things are going wonderfully!  I’m very excited for the future the show and fandom,

I would love to hear what you all think of Peter Capaldi as the Doctor, now that the dust as settled and things are clearer.

Until then, toodles!