The Crimson Horror


Hello!

Once again I am much later than I had hoped to be. Let me explain, I watched the episode a while ago as everyone did, but when I went to go back and watch it again it was unavailable, making it impossible for me to do the usual routine of note taking and talking. It’s still unavailable, but I will blog anyway (which means this is probably going to be short– yay for you guys right? you don’t have to read the long winded rantings this time!)

But on to the episode.

The Crimson Horror.

Definitely a Mark Gatiss episode, rather dark and creepy, but I still liked it. It wasn’t my favorite episode, but it was a good one (if it’s even possible to have a bad episode of Doctor Who, with the exception of “Love and Monsters” of course).

I enjoyed seeing Madame Vastra, Jenny and Strax again. I didn’t really think that I would have missed them, but I really enjoyed them this time. I’ve got a bit of a hunch that they’ll be around for the last episode of the season, or at least they’ll be around when the Doctor find out who Clara is, because now they’re wondering and they need resolution.

As for Mr. Sweet, I thought it was rather obvious that he was ruling over Mrs. Gillyflower, especially after the salt incident, but the thing about him being a parasite from the old days of the earth being occupied by only Silurians, that was interesting and I wasn’t expecting that (but who would?).

I don’t have any new theories on Clara. (other than a note that she was wearing red again.)
So instead I’ll tell you the part that made me do a face palm. Thomas Thomas. really? It was super funny but really stupid at the same time. British humor, what can you do with it? not much, but That’s ok, I was  been raised on “Mr. Bean” and “Wallace and Gromit”, I can handle a bit more stupidly funny humor (not to mention that’s my natural sense of humor all the time anyway).

 

Something I thought that was kind of bitter sweet, super sad, was how Mrs. Gillyflower’s daughter called the Doctor her monster. didn’t we just talk about how “every lonely monster needs a companion?” It wasn’t just talking about him, there are lonely monsters all over. She was one of them. I felt so horrible for her. I kind of hope that she might team up with Madame Vastra and company, I don’t know what she would do, but it would be cool to see her again. I liked her, she had a heart.

Wow, I really don’t have much to say about this episode. It was a good one, but not my favorite. I didn’t see much that caught my eye for possibly giving hints or ideas to who Clara is.

I would love to hear your thoughts about the episode. Did it make sense to you? What was your favorite part? least favorite part?

Have a lovely day!

See you sometime next week, hopefully with something more interesting to say.

Cheers!

12 thoughts on “The Crimson Horror

  1. Hey Anna. 🙂 As usual, I’m behind, so I can’t read this yet. But I will watch the episode in the next few days. How have you been? How are all the little kids? I hope they’re treating you well!

    • It’s all good, take all the time you need 🙂
      The little ones have been very good! as many diapers as usual, a few scraped knees, but just as much love, if not more.
      I’ve been great lately! life is good, working and blogging, enjoying the sunshine and blooming flowers.
      How have you been?

      • I’m glad to hear that! 🙂 You seem to be very good at handling all those kids, better than I would be, lol. I’m OK, working and blogging too. I don’t think I’ll write a sequel to my other novel. I think I’ll write a Southern Gothic novel instead.

  2. Hmmm, it’s hard to explain. I guess you would say it’s quirky, bizarre crime drama set in the South. I live in Northwest Georgia, so there’s plenty of material all around me.

Any thoughts? please share

